Turin Brakes News

Dermot O’Leary Saturday Sessions compilation – out 4 October

Dermot O’Leary is releasing the second compilation disc of Saturday Sessions recorded during his show on BBC Radio 2. It features bands playing acoustic songs and bands covering songs by other people. Turin Brakes have featured on the show many times throughout their career. On the first compilation they featured with a live version of their cover of Breaking The Girl (by the Red Hot Chili Peppers – the studio version can be found on The Red Moon EP). This time they feature with an acoustic version of one of their own songs: Sea Change, from the Outbursts album.

I’m assuming this version is the one recorded in January 2010, but the band also played the song at the Dermot Latitude Festival special in 2009. The compilation is released on 4 October 2010. Full press release and tracklisting after the break (I like saying “after the break”).

If you like pre-ordering this particular cd, you can do so here.

X Factor and BBC Radio 2 presenter Dermot O’Leary is launching “The Saturday Sessions” album in conjunction with his BBC Radio 2 show – Saturday’s from 3pm – 6pm.
The Saturday Sessions album, which will be released on October 4th 2010, is a collection of cover versions and rare stripped back acoustic versions from The Dermot O’Leary Show, which takes place every Saturday afternoon on BBC Radio 2. Featuring a variety of artists from Lily Allen, Massive Attack and Ellie Goulding to Katy Perry, Paolo Nutini and Florence & The Machine. All the tracks are exclusive to this album, and not available anywhere else.

The Saturday Sessions exclusively features a variety of recording artists who have swept the UK’s music scene over the past decade and beyond with a mix of new and modern takes on classic tracks. The album is a must have for fans of the bands, fans of the music and fans of Dermot.

Dermot’s show is the new music programme for BBC Radio 2 – the UK’s most listened to radio station. The show which won The Sony Awards Best Music Programme earlier this year, has been responsible for helping break new bands and give first plays to upcoming artists such as Paloma Faith, Lissie, The Ting Tings, Fleet Foxes, The Feeling, Scouting For Girls and The Hoosiers.

Dermot O’Leary said “The Saturday Sessions is my favourite part of the show. It’s a privilege to hear such a diverse and brilliant range of artists singing songs you wouldn’t necessarily associate with them, which makes these performances so unusual and special. This album has really fuelled my passion for live music.”

Dermot’s always had music in his blood; he kick-started his career as a DJ working for a local radio station, which later led him on to a series of presenting slots with both XFM and Radio 2. Dermot’s passion for music has always reflected in his achievements and Dermot’s radio 2 show won Music Programme of the Year in 2008 and then again in 2010.

The Saturday Sessions album launches on October 4th 2010 and is available to buy and download from iTunes, Amazon and all good retailers.

Disc 1.
1. Mumford & Sons – The Cave
2. Paolo Nutini – Candy
3. Biffy Clyro – Fight For This Love (ORIGINALLY BY CHERYL COLE)
5. Florence And The Machine – Rabbit Heart (Raise It Up)
6. Ellie Goulding – Jolene (ORIGINALLY BY DOLLY PARTON)
7. Fyfe Dangerfield – Call The Shots (ORIGINALLY BY GIRLS ALOUD)
8. Alesha Dixon – Son Of A Preacher Man (ORIGINALLY BY DUSTY SPRINGFIELD)
9. Keane – Spiralling
10. Lily Allen – Womanizer (ORIGINALLY BY BRITNEY SPEARS)
11. Athlete – Bulletproof (ORIGINALLY BY LA ROUX)
12. Will Young – Golden Slumbers (ORIGINALLY BY THE BEATLES)
13. Bat For Lashes – Daniel
14. The Leisure Society – The Last Of The Melting Snow
15. The Magic Numbers – The Pulse
16. Ben’s Brother – Poker Face (ORIGINALLY BY LADY GAGA)
17. The Do – On My Shoulders
18. The Hoosiers – Wonderful Life (ORIGINALLY BY BLACK)
19. Tom Baxter – Back To Black (ORIGINALLY BY AMY WINEHOUSE)
20. Scouting For Girls – Rockin’ All Over The World (ORIGINALLY BY STATUS QUO)

Disc 2
1.Elbow – Grounds For Divorce
2. Paloma Faith – New York
3. Kasabian – Empire
5. Doves – Kingdom Of Rust
6. Lissie – Nothing Else Matters (ORIGINALLY BY METALLICA)
7. The Divine Comedy – Time To Pretend (ORIGINALLY BY MGMT)
8. Sia – Day Too Soon
9. Ed Harcourt – 50 Ways To Leave Your Lover (ORIGINALLY BY PAUL SIMON)
10. Editors – It Ain’t Me Babe (ORIGINALLY BY BOB DYLAN)
11. Scott Matthews – Elusive
12. Alex Cornish – Brothers In Arms (ORIGINALLY BY DIRE STRAITS)
13. Turin Brakes – Sea Change
14. Imogen Heap – Thriller (ORIGINALLY BY MICHAEL JACKSON)
15. Gossip – Heavy Cross
16. White Rabbits – Kid On My Shoulders
17. Lisa Hannigan – Playground Love (ORIGINALLY BY AIR)
18. The Temper Trap – Sweet Disposition
19. Cerys Matthews – Love Me Tender (ORIGINALLY BY ELVIS PRESLEY)
20. Amy Winehouse – Rehab

2 comments on “Dermot O’Leary Saturday Sessions compilation – out 4 October

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.